In Recruit CRM you have the ability to add and associate notes to all entities (candidates, companies, contacts, jobs & deals). You have restrictions around viewing, editing & deleting notes based on the user roles.
On the Pro Plan, the "Role" of the user would determine whether they can view, edit or delete the notes. The basic logic that applies to restrictions around notes is that when you are able to view a record, you can add notes to them. But you cannot delete a note unless you are the Admin or the Account Owner.
Following are the 4 default roles and the restriction that they have around notes:
Account Owner: An account owner has the access to the entire database. So they can add, view, edit and delete any note associated with any record.
Admin: The admin can also add, view edit, and delete any note associated with any record.
Team Member: A team member can only add, edit and view all the notes but cannot delete any notes from the database.
Restricted Team Member: A restricted team member can only add and edit notes on the records that they have added into the system or made collaborators on. They won't be able to delete any notes
P.S. It's set up like this to avoid data loss that happens due to the deletion of notes.
On the Business Plan, the determining factor to add, view, edit or delete the notes depends upon the permission of the role the user is assigned. Apart from the four default user roles, on the Business Plan, you can create new roles with custom access to the database.
The following article will help you with this: Custom Roles - Access Control & Permissions In Recruit CRM.
The restriction on the notes would depend on the custom permissions you have set for the user role for each entity. If a user has permission to view and edit "Everything", but can only delete "Owned only" under the candidate module, then they can view and edit all notes under the candidates, but cannot delete notes that are added on candidates that are not owned by them.
To sum up, whatever permissions to add/edit/delete is selected for any particular entity (candidate/company/contact/job/deal), the same will apply for all notes added on records belonging to that entity type.
In cases, where the note is added to a candidate who is owned by the user and associated with records that are not owned by them, they can still delete the notes from all the records as they have the delete permission for the candidate record, which was the primary record where the note was added.
Hope this helps :')